Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

04.30.02 - 2:38 pm

Let me tell you all something about the night shift.

It's grimy... dark... almost always raining (at least it seems that way) and there's that subtle smell in the air, that hints at the fact that everyone who's awake KNOWS they should be in bed.

Then you work for 10 hours... and it becomes light outside, and you bullshit around with other people.. never feeling any better about being awake all night long, when you know it's natural for you to sleep during this time.. I mean, it's even medically advised. Isn't that some shit. We work, on ladders, in dust, and become covered in grease. Walk around and smile at eachother, with our ripped shirts and black arms and hands, and that smell of gas on our pants. Then the music will get louder all of a sudden, and everyone will get louder.. until the song finally goes away and it's quiet again. For awhile. And I can never stop yawning once I find out it's 7:00 am.. because i'm conditioned from all those years of school, and all those years of waking up to something bad or to something we never really wanted to do, and always just wanting to fall back asleep the second we awoke. So i fight it for a while, and then it's time to go home... cover my window with a black sheet, take the dog out and fall asleep... deeply, and unconciously... forever.. until 2pm. Then... we do it all over again.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!