Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

09.19.02 - 3:26 pm

WELL.. I was going to write an entry, but seeing that everything's left my MIND all of a sudden.. I'm at a total loss of control. Even bowel movements.

I attended a teach-in (even though it always makes me want to say kitchen) yesterday evening about the World Bank and the IMF, and the USAID. I have to tell you... I learned a ton. My girlfriend always tries to explain to me why she's an activist.. or why she's involved with all this HEAL (spelling that wrong probably) stuff, and in the past, well, I had a different opinion.. and basically, I really just didn't know what I was talking about. Now, I can understand why she's with those people, and why she supports their ideas and/or movements. I think it's pretty fuckin awesome if you ask me. I personally wouldn't protest, not even if you gave me a $50,000 sign up bonus. I just can't push myself to hold signs, and yell at people, or even point at a cop. (which even if i did protest, i wouldn't.. cause those guys are just there to get paid so they can go home and embrace their one and only timeless sport: miller time) So I gotta hand it to the activists, and the HEAL members of Berea. You guys impressed me.. and you made me understand. That goes without saying that I have a different view on the whole thing.. not necessarily different.. because I know what they do is wrong, and it has to be stopped.. but getting them to stop, that's where I have the different view. But .. like I said.. I wouldn't protest... that's why. =) Not that protesting is a bad thing.. I just think there are more thought-out ways of handling the situation rather than trying to be so annoying that someone stop something. It's weird.. some of the only protests mentioned in our history books were the very violent. Go figure.

So for all you who'd like to know more about the WB, IMF, USAID and such, and why they're wrong, I'm supplying links:

World Bank and IMF

US Network for Global Economic Justice

Anyway, those should be some good sources to help you get started in on what's going on. The jist is this: These companies in compliance with the USAID, are basically Corporate terraforming the world for the US economy. They're making us (the US people) richer, for the expense of everyone they claim to be helping. I wish I had some more contacts for you, but I figure if you're that interested, you'll find out sooner or later.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!