Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

03.02.03 - 1:14 am

I'm unsure of the rest of the lyrics.. or rather, words.. to that prose I quoted in the subject of this entry. All i know is, i heard it from Ani D. Sounds like a breakfast drink, eh? Ani D.

I've had a lot of things to think about recently. I'm only going to touch on some, because I've had them on queue for a while now. See.. I don't multitask well, but I can queue like a motherfucker.

Saying that, I can recall an unsettled issue from ages ago and deal with it now. The issue i'm going to deal with isn't ages old, well.. it is. but not for me. at least. Oh Fuck if I know, just read.

Women.

Respect.

Understanding.

Rights.

A group of words, right? Which probably up until maybe the last 20 years have been strongly seperated. I'm not saying they're all together now.. but I have to admit, as a younger generation, the majority doesn't see how they fit apart, but how they fit together. I can't say much, because I've always been one to respect a person for the person they are, and not for their shaft, balls or pussies. Same thing goes with color, it doesn't seem to ever set off an alarm with me anywhere... nor does it affect how I treat that person. Basically, I'm not a jackass. Though I must admit, there are certain things I have been subject to throughout the course of my life that has been that way (my parents, my household... my past). It's a sexist world. It's a racist world. It's a Sexracist world. And what year is it now, 2003? What the fuck.

You have to be willing to be wrong. You have to want to understand that as a white man, you are better off. We are better off. I don't deny it anymore, not even for the sake of my own sad-bastard reasons (aka my car accident, not getting the job i want, blah blah) that shit is situational, and i'm sure if it weren't for my laziness sometimes, or failure to grip things out of the ordinary I'd have gotten everything I wanted. Once you understand this, you will feel seperated, because you are. You are on top. As a male, or as a white male. Then you have to educate yourself. I've had the luxury of seeing a few plays, namely "The Vagina Monologues", and "For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide/when the Rainbow Is Enuf" and had countless hours of debate and education from my girlfriend (who is very wise on the subject of our differences, ..... sexually). It's really simple, I found. To start to change the way things are in the world. I found this out in a very recent argument with my girlfriend. You first have find the topic to be wrong. Then you have to want to learn how and why it is wrong, and how you can change it. Then you pass on this knowledge to the person closest to you, and the person farthest from you. Only by opening our eyes can we ever face what's going on. We have to face what's going on. Especially us. If there is a shred of dignity in the word we know as "men"... then I say we as men, must use what we have now (which is the world at our fingertips, which is an oppressive world, which is an unsafe world) to spread this word, this knowledge, this fucking truth about why it's not working. And why it should not be let to continue the way it is.. and why being passive is just as good as being dead. Be a man. Fuckin understand. And help your brothers do the same.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!