Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

01.20.03 - 1:07 am

i walked in and pushed the button 1.

the elevator dropped beneath me, the closest thing to freefall i'll probably ever experience. 22...21...19...18...17...16...(a horrific, heavily distorted beep with every new floor)...15...14...13

i hate it when it stops, because it takes forever. including when i'm in a rush to get somewhere. namely, band practice.

the doors push open, clanking heavily under the weight of a thousand fat ass frat boys years before me and years to come.

two girls step into the elevator. one talking on her cell phone, the other trying not to splash everyone with the water from her freshly washed hair, as she wisks it around a comb, dragging out tangles and whatever else.

the doors sit. don't close. they just sit. i sat for a few seconds, i'm in a rush. i've got to go. so, fuck it. i kick the close door button lightly with the tip of my shoe (standing opposite of the buttons, leaning against the back of the elevator). the doors shut.

12...11... and the girl next to me, turns to her friend who hung up her nokia at this point (giggling uncontrollably probably at the fact that she has no idea really what she was talking about, and why she wasn't carrying this conversation in a more private setting).. maybe out of shame>> so she turns to her friend and says, "You know. I really hate how people are too lazy to walk over and push the button." okay. an insult. to someone she doesn't know. for no reason at all. evidentally this was SO much of a problem for her, she had to indirectly insult a complete stranger. that didn't float with me tonight. this heat went straight to my face. i had to defend myself. even if it was over kicking a pathetic run down elevator button... i was rushing, not really considering the fact that i have other apendages more socially accepted for the task.

i say "That's bullshit. In fact, I don't consider it any easier to raise my leg and push the button skillfully with my shoe. I think it's lazier for someone to just do things the way they're always done. I think you're lazy for even considering the possibility that your way is the only ACTIVE way to properly push the close door button in this elevator, and I think the only real reason you've pointed my way out is because you're completely frightened of any change you can't fully understand."

The girl stared in awe.

the doors opened, i said, "Goodnight."

and walked on my way. i heard her friend saying "oh my god" in the background as i walked away, but i don't recall them exiting the elevator immediatly after the doors opened.

i haven't felt that accomplished in a while. and by that, i mean, socially dominating. for all that's worth, i could have bitched her out for getting on the elevator with wet hair, and how lazy it is not to dry it, but did i say something about it? fuck no. it's none of my business how she washes her hair, or drys it any different than mine. and it's none of her business how i wanna push the goddamn elevator button. i thought of a more comical way to approach her, as i was walking to my car in K lot. "what if i had no functioning arms? or if those arms had no hands, or what if, just what if i had the arms and the hands, but no fingers. or maybe i had a phobia of pushing buttons in a very unclean elevator.

my point is. be who you want to be always, you'll know when to defend yourself, and why. even if it is over a stupid ass elevator button. not the circumstance, just the principle. be peaceful, be polite, but don't hide from ignorance.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!